According to the guidelines, for two kids, you must pay between 20% to 36.8% of your net income, plus an additional percentage of any income above a certain baseline amount. The baseline for our example net income of $2,500) is $2,083. The percentage of child support due on $2,083 is 35%.
The Wyoming custody statute states that a judge's decision may include any combination of the various types of custody. For example, it's possible for a court to award parents joint legal custody, but award one of the parents sole physical custody. (Wyo. Stat.
That's something of a trick question, because normally a child—meaning someone under the age of majority, which is 18 in Wyoming—doesn't have decision-making power when it comes to custody. (Wyo. Stat. § 14-1-101.)
It's a strictly “no-fault” state. This means that to get divorced in Wyoming, one or both spouses must tell the court that there are “irreconcilable differences in the marital relationship.” This means that at least one spouse believes the couple has grown apart to the point that the marriage can't be saved.
Wyoming family laws provide for spousal support, or alimony, in the event of a divorce. But it is rarely awarded. Spousal support can be requested by either spouse, so long as he or she is in a less favorable position to support him or herself after the divorce.
As a legal concept, marital property refers to all the possessions and interests acquired after a couple gets married. Most states, like Wyoming, have no community property laws on the books, which allows for more flexibility and more uncertainty in property division when a couple gets a divorce.
If you die without a will in Wyoming, your children will receive an “intestate share” of your property. For children to inherit from you under the laws of intestacy, Wyoming must consider them your children, legally.
In Wyoming, a court will divide marital property during a divorce based on a system called equitable distribution. This means that the property will be split between spouses in a way that is equitable based on the entire financial impact of the divorce.
No. Wyoming does not recognize “common law” marriages. NOTE: There is no common law divorce in Wyoming, either, and even if you were common law married in a state that recognizes common law marriage, you have to follow all the divorce laws in Wyoming to obtain a divorce.
At this point, you're probably wondering if you live in a community property state. Community property states as of 2020 include Arizona, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington and Wisconsin.